• All tickets for Oliver are now sold out.  No tickets will be available on the door.
  • Our latest edition of the school newsletter is now available to view. Click here
  • Derby Moor celebrates A level results click here
  • 2018/19 Parent Calendar click here


We have high expectations of students and try to involve them actively in their learning so that they are interested and motivated. This is further promoted by using a wide range of teaching methods. Formal class teaching is supported by coursework, practical work, individual projects, group work, discussions, visits and external speakers visiting to talk about their subject. Homework and research is a vital part of each student's course.

Derby Moor Academy offers its students a broad, relevant and balanced curriculum. This ensures we can respond to the aspirations, interests and needs of each person. We believe that all students deserve full public recognition and accreditation for their personal and academic achievements through examination qualifications and their National Record of Achievement.

Curriculum 2017-18

Each block is 4 hours per fortnight except 13 which is 1 hour per fortnight

Key stage 3

Languages                             PACE                                                  Human Development

French                                     Physical Education (4)                 Geography (3)

Spanish                                   Drama/Dance (2)                            History (3)

Panjabi                                    Art (2)                                                  Religious Education (2)

Urdu                                        Personal development (1)                   


Soft Options in year 9

Students will pick two humanities subjects (from geography, history and RE) to study and for PACE will pick dance, drama art or music alongside compulsory physical education.

Key stage 4



Key stage 5


Changes to GCSE Assessment grades

In 2015, The Government started to make changes to the content of courses and  the way in which GCSEs are to be graded. 

The main features of the new GCSEs are:

  1. A new grading scale of 9 to 1 will be used, with 9 being the top grade. This will allow greater differentiation between students and will help distinguish the new GCSEs from previous versions.

  2. Assessment will be mainly by exam, with other types of assessment used only where they are needed to test essential skills.

  3. There will be new, more demanding content, which has been developed by government and the exam boards.

  4. Courses will be designed for two years of study – they will no longer be divided into different modules and students will take all their exams in one period at the end of their course.

  5. Exams can only be split into ‘foundation tier’ and ‘higher tier’ if one exam paper does not give all students the opportunity to show their knowledge and abilities.

  6. Resit opportunities will only be available each November in English language and maths.

click here to see a timeline of the changes taking place.

Please click here to see the new grading system and how this compares to the old grading system. 


Details of what students are studying can be found on the knowledge and skills sheet tab.